The West Virginia Freedom of Information Act (“Act”), W.Va. Code §29B-1-1 et seq., requires public bodies to provide public records in response to requests, unless those records are exempt from disclosure.
Filing a Request
No particular form is required to submit a FOIA request. To make sure we understand exactly what you want, we need your request to be in writing. A request may be made via U.S. Mail or Email. The addresses are below.
Below are forms you may use, the Printable FOIA Request
Form and the Online FOIA Request Form.
Printable FOIA Request Form
Online FOIA Request Form
West Virginia State Treasurer’s Office
Building 1, Room E-145
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, WV 25305
Reports and documents normally distributed to the public are available without cost, unless you are requesting several copies or producing the copies would be burdensome or expensive. If there will be a cost, we will let you know the amount before we make the copies.
The cost for copying records in a paper form is $.50 per page. Postage and/or shipping costing more than the cost for one (1) ounce will be charged at our actual cost.Electronic records will be provided via Email in an Adobe PDF format without charge or on a CD-ROM at a cost of $10.00, unless you request them to be printed.
If the records requested cost less than $10.00, there will be no charge.
Checks should be made payable to “State of West Virginia” and mailed to the address above.
Frequently Requested Records
Unclaimed Property Records
For general requests for unclaimed property records, the State Treasurer’s Office will provide a link with the unclaimed property owner name, city and state.The link is updated quarterly.The West Virginia Unclaimed Property Act, W.Va. Code §36-8-1 et seq., provides that unclaimed property records are available for inspections and copying only by the owner or his/her personal representative.
Records of unclaimed property audits are exempt from disclosure under W.Va. Code §36-8-20(d).
Stale Check Records
Records pertaining to state checks not presented for payment for more than six (6) months from issuance are exempt from disclosure pursuant to W.Va. Code §12-3-1(d).Records pertaining to state checks issued less than six (6) months from disclosure will be provided.However, we will not provide a list of checks issued on behalf of a specific state agency.
View FOIA Policy